Walton County



Walton County was created by the Land Lottery Act of 1818 and is named after George Walton, one of the Founding Fathers of this great nation. As a delegate to the Second Continental Congress, he was one of Georgia's three signers of the Declaration of Independence; he also served Georgia as a Chief Justice, U.S. Senator, and Governor.



Comprising 329 square miles and located approximately 45 miles east of Atlanta in Georgia's Piedmont region, Walton is the state's forty-sixth county. The Walton County Government is housed in the county seat of Monroe (named after our fifth U.S. president, James Monroe).


gop leadership

The well-known chairman of the Walton County Republican Party is Roy Roberts. Roy was a Republican long before the county voted reliably for GOP candidates, and the majority of the current success of Republican ideals in Walton County can be attributed to Roy and his leadership.